The philosophy of the Foundation is that strong juries choose strong candidates, which in turn enhances the integrity of the Award.

Each year, the Joe Plaskett Foundation appoints three Canadian artists or curators of significant reputation to the jury. Starting in 2020, the candidates’ applications were reviewed by a coast-to-coast jury, in an effort to accurately represent the variety of viewpoints in Canadian painting.

2023 Jury – Coast-to-Coast Jury

Jordan BennettMi’kmaw visual artist currently based in Halifax, Nova Scotia
Meera SethiContemporary Canadian visual artist established in Toronto, Ontario
M.E. SparksArtist and educator currently living in Winnipeg, Manitoba

2022 Jury – Coast-to-Coast Jury

David BlatherwickRetired painting professor based in Québec
Kym GreeleyVisual artist based in St. John’s, Newfoundland & Labrador
Charlene VickersMultidisciplinary artist and art educator based in Vancouver, British Columbia

2021 Jury – Coast-to-Coast Jury

David GarneauProfessor of Visual Arts, University of Regina, Saskatchewan
Beth StuartAssistant Professor of Visual Arts, University of Victoria, Vancouver
Jinny YuProfessor of Visual Arts, University of Ottawa, Ottawa

2020 Jury – Coast-to-Coast Jury

Gwenessa LamAssociate professor, Emily Carr University of Art and Design, Vancouver
Sara Hartland-RowePart-time instructor, Nova Scotia College of Art and Design, Halifax
Stéphane La RuePainter, Montreal

2019 Jury – Guelph, Ontario

Monica Tap   (Chair)Professor, School of Fine Art and Music,
University of Guelph
Frances LoefflerCurator, Oakville Galleries, Toronto
Doug KirtonAssociate Professor, Department of Fine Arts,
University of Waterloo

2018 Jury – Montréal, Québec

Julie Trudel   (Chair)Assistant Professor, Université du Québec à Montréal,
2013 Joseph Plaskett Award Winner
David ElliottProfessor, Concordia University
Jennifer LefortInstructor, Université du Québec en Outaouais and University of Ottawa, and 2005 Joseph Plaskett Award Winner

2017 Jury – Toronto, Ontario

Laura Millard  (Chair)Associate Professor, Ontario College of Art and Design
David LissCurator, Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA)
Alexander IrvingAssociate Professor, University of Toronto

2016 Jury – Vancouver, British Colombia

David MacWilliam  (Chair)Associate Professor and former Dean of the Audain Faculty of Visual Art and Material Practice, Emily Carr University of Art and Design
Gary PearsonProfessor in Painting, University of British Columbia at Okanagan
Allyson ClayProfessor in the Centre for Contemporary Art,
Simon Fraser University

2015 Jury – Ottawa, Ontario

Jennifer Lefort  (Chair)Painter and former Plaskett recipient (2005)
Carol WainioGovernor General Award in Visual Arts winner
and senior Canadian painter
Jonathan ShaughnessyCurator, National Gallery of Canada

2014 Jury – Winnipeg, Manitoba

Mark Neufeld    (Chair)Associate Professor, University of Manitoba
and recipient of the Inaugural Joseph Plaskett Award
Paul ButlerArtist and Curator of Contemporary Art, Winnipeg Art Gallery
Eleanor BondAssociate Professor, Concordia University
and renowned Winnipeg based artist

2013 Jury – Vancouver, British Colombia

Renée Van Halm   (Chair)Professor Emeritus, Emily Carr University
Robert YoudsUniversity of Victoria
Ben ReevesEmily Carr University of Art + Design

The 2012 jury in Halifax was: Jan Peacock, Alex Livingston and Peter Dykhuis.

The 2011 jury in Toronto was: John Kissick, Shirley Wiitasalo and Laura Millard.

The 2010 jury in Montreal, was Eliza Griffiths (Chair), Pierre Dorion, and Etienne Zack.

The 2009 jury in Calgary, was Chris Cran (Chair), Arlene Stamp, and Ron Moppett.

The 2008 jury in Vancouver, was Paul Mathieu (Chair), Landon Mackenzie, and Mark Neufeld.

Special Thanks

The Joe Plaskett Foundation would like to express its thanks and appreciation to the outstanding Canadian artists who have served on The Plaskett Award jury between 2004 and 2008: 
Mario Doucet, Andy Fabo, Vera Frenkel, Sherrard Grauer, Duncan de Kergommeaux, Landon Mackenzie, Cheryl Sourkes, Ian Wallace,  Robert Young, and Takao Tanabe.